Greece | Santorini Bucket-list

It’s three months till Greece! Eeeek. I feel like Greece has been on my bucket-list forever so it feels good to be able to scratch it off this September.

We will be spending 3 days in Santorini, before heading to a non-tourist town called Lefkada to stay in a beautiful villa for a week. I literally cannot wait to update you. So, if you aren’t already following me on Instagram, you really should, just to get regular updates on all the beautiful surroundings (Well, unless you will get too jealous, then I understand as a sufferer of FOMO myself).

SANTORINI.png

 

#1: Hike the Fira Trail (from Oia)

Besides being healthy and active while on holiday (which is always my goal), this hike is a must for some of the BEST photo opportunities Santorini has to offer. All those stunning Instagram photos you see? Well you can take them too. The 10km hike starts in Fira and goes all the way to Oia. In total, the hike is about three hours long (at a leisurely pace). It is recommended to do the hike at sunset, as it is cooler PLUS you’ll get the most beautiful photos at this time of day!

#2: Get the perfect spot to watch the best sunset in the world

If any of you know me well, you’d know I’m basically obsessed with the sky and sunsets/sunrises. So even though taking in the sunset in Santorini is an obvious one, it’s also basically the thing to do when in Greece. You’ll be hard-pressed to find a more spectacular sunset. BUT to avoid the crowds, secure a good spot by arriving extra early before sunset. If you’re planning to stay for a while,  maybe bring some picnic-y foods!

anthony-delanoix-43715

#3: Hire a quad bike (ATV) and drive around the island

Hiring a quad bike (or ATV) for the day is surprisingly cheap and only requires a standard license. While I’ve read some horror stories, I’m sure if you drive slow and safely, you should be fine. That being said, I’m planning to avoid the busy roads.

#4: Eat Seafood at Amoudi Bay

Gimme all the seafood! Head down the steps from Oia to Amoudi Bay to one of the waterfront, traditional taverns. It is said that you can find some of the freshest seafood imaginable there!

#5: While we’re on the topic of food — Eat at a Classic Taverna

I want to try all things Greek while still keeping a bikini bod for the rest of the trip. A challenge? Yes.  But they do say Greek food is supposed to be healthy ;). I’ll be on the Mediterranean Diet for the remainder of the trip!

nick-karvounis-123491

#6: Jump off a boat in to hot springs

So, this is completely out of my comfort zone. If anyone else hates deep waters where you’re unsure what lays below, then you’ll understand. But again, this is a once-in-a-lifetime experience and comes highly recommended. Dive off into the cool Mediterranean ocean to swim a few metres to the hots springs, where the water changes color and temperature.

BUT TIP: Never wear your best swimsuit in the hot springs. The sulphur will ruin it!

#6: Experience a dinner with a view

This is just one of my favourite things in the world. Eating (because I’m a foodie) while enjoying a beautiful view, especially a sunset (because I’m obsessed with them) = heaven on earth to me. Book your reservation for sunset and prepare to have your mind (and hopefully tastebuds) blown.

I have been recommended Volcano Blue, (a reasonably-priced restaurant) along the water at Fira with an amazing view.

Obviously, we’re only going to be in Santorini for 3 days, so getting all the above done might be a bit too ambitious, but you know what? Go big or go home.

If you’ve been to Santorini, please send me your recommendations and suggestions!  I’d love to hear all about your holiday!

P.S. While you’re on the topic of beach holidays, you might also enjoy our trip to Mexico here

{PIN THIS FOR LATER}

Greece

Dreaming of Greek Islands,

Leigh 

x

6 thoughts on “Greece | Santorini Bucket-list

  1. You’re going to Greece? And doing all that? The envy I feel….it burns. 😦

    I totally have to make it to Spain before Greece though, and Italy. But Greece is also on my list. Anywhere with a beautiful beach for snorkeling is on my list!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah I’m dying to go to Spain too! Friends are going in a month and they keep nagging us to go with.

      And I completely fell in love with Italy – but there is so much to do!! I want to take my husband because he’s never been and I keep saying we need like 3 – 4 weeks! I did a guided tour with my mom so I saw all the smaller towns too, and they’re literally out of a fairytale!

      There is just too much to do in the world!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. This is true- too much to do! But it’s good that you’re getting so much of it done when you can.

        I’ve never been to Europe. I want to go next year, if possible. Spain and France would definitely be the first two I would try to visit. My Spanish isn’t too terrible, and I’ve been working on my French.

        Make sure you bring hubby, before those Mediterranean men steal you away! 😂

        Like

Leave a Reply

