Round Up | March 2017

March was one of those months that flew by under the radar. Especially on the blogging front. While I could write a whole blog post dedicated to the difficulties of the past month, I’d rather not bore you. Let’s just simplify it: it was tough. I am missing home (South Africa) so much and our ‘travel ban’ with immigration did not help. I’m just SO glad that our Permanent Residency Cards arrived on time and that we didn’t have to cancel our LA trip coming up in a few days. So, things are indeed looking up. There’s a lot in store for us over the next month and I’ll be sure to blog more. 

I BLOGGED.. LIKE ONCE?

I know. Here I’m aiming to blog as much as possible and this month has been one helluva let down. There is no other excuse other than life. With things being uncertain and unsettled with us here in Canada, plus studying as much as possible, it’s been so difficult to blog. So this blog might be packed full of news to update everyone. Bare with me.

WE FOUND ANOTHER COFFEE SPOT IN EDMONTON.

We spent one Snowy Saturday exploring new spots, like Iconoclast on 105 Ave. The garage-style coffee-shop is super cosy, the coffee is great and the view is amazing. We snuggled in with two macchiatos and a game of chess! Yes! Seriously. It was actually so fun.

WHILE EVERYONE WENT TO MEXICO… WE WENT TO WINNIPEG. 

Not joking. Yes, I know “Winterpeg” is not exactly at the top of most people’s to do list. To be honest, the only reason we ventured there was to visit family who were there on business. Any excuse to see family right? Regardless, it was seeing a different city (especially because at this stage, we were still on our travel ban).

We tried Carnaval, an all you can eat meat restaurant and it really hit the spot. The South African in me, missing braais back home, felt a little comfort in tasting all the different grilled meats!

WE WENT TO A DOUGHNUT PARTY.

It’s the latest craze in Edmonton. So if you’re lucky, you’ll get some donuts before they sell out. We had driven into Edmonton early for a well-planned Cafe Linnea breakfast as Craig and I were both craving it, only to realise they have started opening at 10am now! We killed an hour with doughnuts and coffee from Doughnut Party just two doors down.

WE TRIED BAIJIU… AND FELL IN LOVE. 

My word. This little piece of heaven has been on my radar since they teased us with all their “opening soon” social media posts. The food is incredible: I loved the brussels sprouts! And the pork was divine too. We ordered way too much but I don’t regret a thing. The cocktails are just as amazing. This place is a winner and we will be returning!

17498805_10154316959420841_3144785771096450796_n

WE BOOKED TO GO TO MEXICO. 

After being unable to go for the WHOLE of Winter, we spontaneously decided to book on Monday, leaving this Thursday. You cannot believe how much we are yearning for sunshine and cocktails – after all, we basically grew up on Vitamin D throughout the year in South Africa so I know that 5 days on the beach will do us some good.

We booked through Sunwing as we wanted an all-inclusive, hassle-free holiday – so let’s hope it all goes according to plan! I’ll be sure to do a review when we return but here’s a sneak peak at the hotel we’re staying at!

hero.jpg
Photo: From the El Dorado Sensimar Seaside Suites Website.
HIGHLIGHTS:
  • I got some more online love from 124th Sreet – one of my favourite streets in Edmonton! Check out their Facebook page here. They shared my blog post on my brunch at Canteen, check that out here.
  • Booking a trip to Mexico! Check out the blog on what to pack here. I need the sun so badly!!
  • We found a new coffee spot, Iconoclast. It’s a new favourite.
  • We got our Permanent Residency Cards so we’re officially residents of Canada!
  • We kitted out my study/office a bit more, with a desk and chair from Wayfair. It’s so nice having my own little spot to study. I’ll upload photos when I do a blog post specifically on our Wayfair purchases. 🙂
LOWLIGHTS:
  • Not blogging and keeping up with all that’s on my plate. This is more life a self-reflection on the past month rather than an actual event.
  • Besides being stressed all month that we may have to cancel LA, no other real lowlights.
WHAT’S NEXT IN APRIL?

April is absolute chaos. There isn’t a weekend that is unaccounted for. We will be arriving back from Mexico and a few days later are off again to Los Angeles. Then we arrive back and a few days later head off to Calgary for a one nighter to fetch our new little family member (a kitten). And then, Craig’s dad arrives on Craig’s birthday for a week in Canada, during which we might tack on a quick visit to Jasper. I know, crazy right. It’s funny how everything happens all at once after months of quiet!

So excited for this next month! So stay tuned! 🙂

Leigh

x

One thought on “Round Up | March 2017

Leave a Reply

