#6weekstoLA | The Beach Body Plan

6 weeks to.png

Guys… It’s 6 weeks till LA (Los Angeles) and I’m rocking a serious Winter bod – no jokes. The plan is to be in the sun, soaking up the rays on Venice/Santa Monica Beach (with all the Hollywood wannabes) in 6 weeks time so obviously something needs to change! Ie. my diet, workout schedule and overall life attitude. I can’t keep sitting around hoping abs are going to fall from the sky. Come now. Let’s just be realistic.

So, here’s my plan:

bruno-nascimento-149663

Workouts:

The plan is 6 days a week, with only one rest day (resting as in only doing a light one hour walk). A daily walk is kind of like therapy to me. Without it, I do start to go a bit nuts. But besides the benefit of preserving my sanity, it also helps me maintain my weight or weight loss. In fact, I don’t remember a time where I haven’t incorporated a daily walk in to achieve any kind of weight loss.

So, the goal is 45-60 minutes daily at a brisk pace. But besides that I want to achieve 10,000 steps a day. And my phone will keep track of that for me.

Then, my workouts will include resistance-training and high-intensity circuit training at least 6 times a week. These will be 30 minute sessions each (unless I’m lazy and take my time – which let’s face it, I can’t really afford to do – I’m on a time crunch here). If you don’t know what all that mumbo jumbo means, basically I’ll be squatting, lunging, planking, jumping, etc till the cows come home. But I’ll try include all the workouts in future posts. Think Khloe Kardashian Revenge Body. (And if you haven’t seen that girl workout, then you should google that now).

peter-hershey-178869

Diet:

I really want to adopt an eating lifestyle, rather than a diet that can be sustained for the long term. I eat extremely healthily already (in fact, I am an annoying health freak) but I find that I, too, indulge far too much (even) on healthy food. Yes, that can happen.

So, what I’m hoping to achieve in my diet over the next 6 weeks is a more Paleo-based/Whole30-type lifestyle. That means no gluten or grains, no dairy, no refined sugar, no processed foods, no legumes (goodbye peanut butter, my lover. Also, bye peas, beans, and soy – but I won’t miss you guys), and no vegetable oils. These are all highly inflammatory and will make your stomach bloat, so cutting them out will not only make you feel better, but will leave you looking leaner in that bikini.

So you might wonder what’s left in the food pyramid? Well, I can eat grass-fed meat, fresh fish/seafood (wild, not farmed), eggs, fresh fruit and vegetables, nuts and seeds and approved oils (coconut, avocado, macadamia, and olive oil but be aware of the heat levels of each).

Personally, I am going to try keep red meat limited to once or twice a week. This has nothing to do with anything other than personally feeling better on white and lighter meat.

I’ve also ordered a vegan protein powder, because I am staying away from dairy (and whey). The brand I ordered is actually Australian, and came with a hefty delivery price tag, but I’m hoping it’s worth it! My favourite youtube, Sarahs Day, uses it and in turn, has heavily influence my decision to use this brand, Tropeaka. (She also has a discount code: SSYT20). And if you watch any of her videos, you might notice that she’s also heavily influenced my new way of eating. (Slightly obsessed with her abs? and also just her vibe?) But keep an eye out for when that delivery arrives and I’ll be sure to do a review of what I think.

If I haven’t already said it, I’m also back to studying – which kind of makes dieting reeeeally tough. Spending all day at home studying makes it difficult to not graze all day. Here’s where willpower is necessary and that’s why I will be setting out a meal plan for the day in order to not let unnecessary calories sneak in where they aren’t needed. Let’s face it, you aren’t exactly burning millions of calories while sitting and studying (as much as we’d like to think we do). For my particular goal, counting calories might be necessary. But I still need enough to fuel my workouts and my brain. It’s a balance.

Will I have cheat meals? Probs not. Let’s be real, six weeks isn’t that long. And while adjusting to this new way of eating, I don’t think it would make much sense to my body to sneak in foods that I have decided to cut out above. Dairy is going to be tough – I have milk all day in my coffee, and yoghurt on the daily. While I might later re-incorproate it, for now, I want to try detox. Gluten? Well that’s not really a problem for me. I can’t eat it anyway. Peanut butter will be sad to say goodbye to, but almond butter will do.

Will I still eat out? Of course, that’s just part of our lifestyle. We love going out and trying new restaurants, but I will certainly make a more concerted effort to go for grilled meats with steamed vegetables or salads minus the dressing. Most restaurants use canola oil in their dressings which is not permitted, so I’ll opt for olive oil and lemon (which most restaurants are happy to provide). But no to alcohol. I know I’ll be drinking in LA, so in the lead up to it, I’m planning to cut it out. Because I’m fun sober too.

angelina-litvin-37699.jpg

What do I hope to accomplish in 6 weeks?

Well, a lot. You can actually accomplish a lot in 6 weeks. Especially when you put your mind to it. And that’s exactly what I’m doing. While I have no set number in mind. My goal is to achieve consistency throughout the 6 weeks and to continue with it even in LA, even after LA, and even till the next beach holiday (Hint: there is another one coming up. But where??? I’ll let you just sit and guess for a while).

But basically, I just want to look a little better in a bikini than I do right now. And I want to feel a bit better in my summer clothes (when I can start wearing them). And I want to get back into healthy routine. LA just happens to be the current motivation.

d75db8a60dcf68e8608795722e6492f7

So, lets summarise:

  • Wake up early to lemon water. And drink more water throughout the day.
  • 45 – 60 minutes fasted cardio in the morning + overall 10,000 steps a day.
  • Resistance training 6 times a week.
  • No dairy, no gluten or grains, no legumes, no refined sugar.
  • Don’t overeat! Willpower Leigh!
  • 8-9 hours of sleep a day.

So tomorrow is official day one. Let’s hope it goes well!

Keep tuned for more #ItalyonTour blog posts this week! Capri, Chianti and Verona are coming up!

Currently trying not to late-night snack,

Leigh 

x

Leave a Reply

