#YEGweekly | Coffee Bureau

I am a self-proclaimed coffee-snob, having come from Cape Town, the city boasting the best coffee shop in the world, according to the Telegraph, I am slightly obsessed with finding the best coffee shops wherever I travel. It’s usually the first thing I research and the first stop on all our travels (post hotel check-in of course).

After I moved to Canada, I was excited to realise that most Canadians share the same cult-like fascination with coffee. You can’t go a block or two without seeing a famous franchise coffee shop like Starbucks or the Canadian favourite, Timmy’s. Craig, too, was relieved that I wouldn’t ever find myself short of a coffee in the city. There is nothing quite like a coffee-withdrawal, with no coffee nearby.

My favourite, though, are the trendy, independent coffee shops usually strategically placed on a corner of a busy street serving up locally-roasted beans and heavenly (gluten-free) baked goods.

Coffee is more than a caffeine-fix you quickly slug back before your next meeting.

This weekend we were actually on our way to my favourite coffee shop, Lock Stock Coffee, when we decided to try this little coffee spot on the opposite side of the street. Coffee Bureau, a small 10-seater cafe on Jasper Ave, seems to be more of a grab-coffee-and-go type of place. Nonetheless, we grabbed the empty counter seats at the window so Craig could enjoy his gluten-full pastry, while I watched the people passing-by.

img_3712

Coffee Bureau serves locally-roasted Ace Coffee alongside freshly baked goodies. Craig and I both ordered cortados – our favourite – and they were perfect! I’d highly recommend checking in if you find yourself downtown and in need of a good coffee!

img_3718

They do have a slight upper hand in terms of their opening hours. Coffee Bureau is open Mon – Fri 7 am – 5:30 pm; Sat 9 am – 3 pm; Closed Sun. While I love Lock Stock, they close at 3pm and that makes it slightly more difficult to get to during the week.  Now that I know Coffee Bureau is just across the street and open until 5, it could become my go-to late afternoon coffee-spot.

10505 Jasper Ave, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 1Z4. You can follow them on twitter or instagram.

Let me know what you think of District by commenting below or you can keep up to date with me on Instagram. I’m always looking for new spots! Help me find my next #YEGweekly Favourite!

PIN this for later!

EDMONTON'S.jpg

Other #YEGweekly’s on the blog you might like:

Your coffee-snob,

Leigh 

x

12 thoughts on “#YEGweekly | Coffee Bureau

Leave a Reply

